Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees acts as an advisory board and has been entrusted with the long-term health, stability, and viability of Summit School of Ahwatukee.

The Board receives no compensation and is composed of dedicated parents, founders, the head of school, a teacher representative, and the BEST board president. The Board of Trustees is responsible for establishment of policy, the appointment of the head of school, and the preservation of the school’s mission, finances, facilities, and programs.

Members work in concert to make decisions in the best interests of the school through the following standing and Adhoc committees:

  • Executive
  • Compensation & Review
  • Financial Assistance
  • Strategic Planning
  • Finance
  • Tuition
  • Nominating
  • Development
  • Communication

The Board of Trustees

Marilyn Thompson

Board Chair
Associate Professor, T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics, Arizona State University

Aya Matsuda, Ph.D.

Board Secretary

Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics

Department of English

Arizona State University

Suleyman Sair, Ph.D.

Chair Technology Strategic Initiatives Committee

Senior Staff Computer Engineer, Intel Corporation

Tammy Braatz

Co-Chair Finance Committee

Tax & Accounting Services – Gallacher, Bosen & Goodman, PLLC

Agata Steenken

Co-Chair Finance Committee

Accounting Manager, A2Q2/ Accounting Faculty,
Grand Canyon University

Stephanie Austin

Co-Chair Development Committee

Lauren Cantoni

Co-Chair Development Committee

Pharmaceutical Representative – Abbvie

Jessica Suzuki

Marketing Director, Suzuki Law, LLC

Jim Scussel

Co-founder and CFO, Four Peaks Brewing Company

Jennifer Hetrick

Owner & General Manager, New Image Med Spa

William V. Andrew, Ph.D.

Founding Member, Summit School of Ahwatukee
General Partner, Inlign Capital Partners
President, Andrew Trust Company

Eric Crown

Founding Member, Summit School of Ahwatukee

Co-founder and Chairman Emeritus of Insight Enterprises, a Fortune 500 Company

Tim Crown

Vice Chairman
Founding Member, Summit School of Ahwatukee

‎Co-Founder/Chairman of the Board, Insight Enterprises, a Fortune 500 Company

Non-Voting Members

Mark Bistricky, MA Ed

Head of School, Summit School of Ahwatukee

Andrea Benkel, M.Ed.

Assistant Head of School, Summit School of Ahwatukee

Faith Angelakis

Second Grade Teacher, Summit School of Ahwatukee

Heather Wolownik

BEST Co- President (Summit School of Ahwatukee Parent Association)

Neil Buckley

BEST Co-President (Summit School of Ahwatukee Parent Organization)